Mavericks, Dungeons and Nazaré out of the 2015/2016 Big Wave Tour

Photo: Miguel Caparica

The World Surf League (WSL) announced the schedule for the 2015/2016 Big Wave Tour (BWT). Mavericks, Dungeons and Nazaré are out of the equation.

There will be five events in the American continent, a stage set for Hawaii and a stop in Europe. The 2015/2016 Big Wave Tour has no big surprises in the pocket for the second season under the WSL umbrella.
"The enhancements made to this upcoming season are designed with one goal in mind - run as many events as possible in the largest surf on offer. We’re excited about the addition of Puerto Escondido and Lincoln City as full-fledged members of the 2015/2016 BWT season," explains Peter Mel, BWT Commissioner.
The 24-man fields will be comprised of the Top 10 finishers on the 2014/2015 BWT season, six event wildcards, six BWT wildcards and the two of six qualifiers from last season’s Prove It Challenge, including Trevor Carlson, Nick Vaughan, Mark Mathews, James Taylor, Jamie Sterling and Derek Dunfee.
Makua Rothman is the defending 2014/2015 Big Wave Tour champion. In the opening season, only two events got underway: Pico Alto and Punta Galea.
2015/2016 Big Wave Tour | Schedule
Quiksilver Ceremonial: Punta de Lobos, Chile (April 15, 2015 - August 31, 2015)
Billabong Pico Alto: Pico Alto, Peru (May 15, 2015 - August 31, 2015)
Puerto Escondido Challenge: Puerto Escondido, Mexico (May 15, 2015 - August 31, 2015)
Oregon Challenge: Lincoln City, Oregon (October 15, 2015 - February 28, 2016)
Punta Galea Challenge: Punta Galea, Basque Country Spain (October 15, 2015 - February 28, 2016)
Pea’hi Challenge: Haiku, Hawaii (October 15, 2015 - February 28, 2016)
Todos Santos Challenge: Todos Santo, Mexico (November 15, 2015 - March 31, 2016)

No comments